Tips:
Hoover's is a great place to start to learn about a company's history.
Generate lists of companies with RefUSA or Lexis by locaton and other criteria.
Private Company Search
Try the Lexis Private Company Search
The following resources are searched:
America's Corporate Finance Directory
Annual Register of Grant Support
Directory of Business Information Resources
Directory of Trust Banking
Directory of Venture Capital Firms
Experian Business Reports
Homeland Security Directory
Hoover's Company Records - Basic Record
Hoover's Company Records - In-depth Records
Inactive Business Database
International Business and Trade Directories
LexisNexis(R) Corporate Affiliations(TM)
Municipal Issuers Registry
Netvention Company Profiles
OneSource(R) CorpTech(R) Company Database
Safety and Security Directory
Standard & Poor's Corporate Register
The Bank Directory
The Bond Buyer's Municipal Marketplace
The Credit Union Directory(R)
The Savings Directory
US Business Directory
Company Career Info
If you are looking for company information for careers you can try your career service office (Hiatt or IBS Career Center) as well as our databases. You might be interested in:
Directories & Profiles and Histories
- Hoover's Online
- LexisNexis Academic Company Dossier
- LexisNexis Academic Private Company Search
- Business Source Complete: Data Monitor Reports
- GuideStar Directory, financials and ratings of nonprofits and charities
- ThomasRegister.com
- Corporate Yellow Book: who's who at the leading U.S. companies
Ref HG4057 .A2 Spring 2006 - Financial Yellow Book: who's who at the leading U.S. financial instutions
Ref HG65.F52 Winter 2006
Company Financials
- Thomson Research
Use Internet Explorer or Safari - Investext Plus
Use Internet Explorer or Safari - Mergent Online
NOTE: Access provided through the Boston Public Library with a Boston Public Library card.
See this page for more information on obtaining a Boston Public Library eCard:
http://www.bpl.org/general/circulation/ecards.htm - Compustat
- GuideStar Directory, financials and ratings of nonprofits and charities
- ISI Emerging Markets
Stock Prices
SEC Filing Definitions
SEC Filings
From Wiki.lexisnexis.com
What is an SEC Filing?
SEC Filings are financial statements or other formal documents submitted to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). These filings are required by law for publicly-traded companies. SEC Filings are used by financial analysts and investors to analyze company growth for investment purposes. LexisNexis Academic contains the full-text of EDGAR (the SEC's online database) filings from 1991 as well as annual and quarterly reports and proxy statements of more than 4,000 US companies, filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission since 1987.
SEC Forms and Definitions
Companies file different forms for different purposes. Below is a list of commonly-used SEC forms and their purpose:
S-3 An initial registration statement for specified transactions by certain issuers.
S-3/A A pre-effective amendment to an S-3 filing.
S-8 An initial registration statement for securities to be offered to employees pursuant to employee benefit plans.
S-8 POS A post-effective amendment to an S-8 filing.
424B2 A form of prospectus filed in connection with a primary offering of securities.
424B3 A prospectus that reflects changes or additions to the information listed in the last prospectus filed.
424B5 A prospectus that discloses information covered in 424B2 and 424B3 filings.
DEF 14A A “proxy statement,” or form that provides
official notification to certain shareholders of matters to be brought
to a vote at a shareholders meeting.
DEFA 14A A form that provides additional definitive proxy soliciting materials.
10-K An annual report that provides an overview of a company for the past year.
10-K405 An annual report that has the Regulation S-K Item 405 box checked on the cover page.
11-K An annual report for employee stock purchase, savings or similar plans.
10-Q A quarterly report that includes unaudited
financial information and provides an ongoing view of a company's
financial position during the year.
SC 13G An initial statement of acquisition of beneficial ownership by individuals.
SC 13G/A An amendment to an SC 13G filing.
3 An initial statement of beneficial ownership of securities held by directors, officers or significant shareholders.
3/A An amendment to a Form 3 filing.
4 A statement of changes in beneficial ownership of
securities held by directors, officers or significant shareholders.
4/A An amendment to a Form 4 filing.
5 An annual statement of beneficial ownership of securities held by directors, officers or significant shareholders.
8-K A report used to explain significant events or changes that affect the company's financial condition.
8-K/A An amendment to a Form 8-K filing.
NO ACT A letter from the SEC indicating that no civil or
criminal action will be charged against an individual for engaging in a
certain activity.
PRE 14A All other preliminary “proxy statements,” or
forms that provide official notification to certain shareholders of
matters to be brought to a vote at a shareholders meeting.
More Information
Visit the SEC filings website to see the SEC's official and complete definitions:
http://www.sec.gov/info/edgar/forms/edgform.pdf
* This material comes from http://wiki.lexisnexis.com/academic/index.php?title=SEC_Filings
Research & Instruction Librarian |
Jason BernardFarber Library, Level 2
781-736-4740
jbernard@brandeis.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Business, Economics, Sustainable International Development
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait